Connect with us


‘Credit for making Tendulkar, Dravid, Ganguly goes to him’: Ex-Pakistan captain | Cricket




For most of the late 90s and most of the early 2000s, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman were India’s batting stalwarts. Together they formed a batting unit that had the ability to score against any opposition in any condition. For a generation of Indians, Tendulkar, Dravid, Ganguly and Laxman were more than cricketing heroes, they were their idols. Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif believes a former India captain deserves credit for shaping them all.

Latif credited former India captain Mohammed Azharuddin with molding Tendulkar, Ganguly, Dravid and Laxman. While Sachin made his India debut under Krisnamachari Srikkanth in 1989, he played extensive cricket under Azharuddin’s command early in his career.

Latif, the former Pakistani batsman-wicketkeeper, actually credited Azharuddin with promoting Tendulkar to open batting in white ball cricket which changed his career.

“He came in order and hasn’t looked back since and he hasn’t stopped. He had already played a lot of games maybe 70 or something before he opened the stick. From 1989-90 he scored his first ODI hundred in 1994. A lot of credit has to go to Mohammed Azharuddin. He deserves credit for making four or five great Indian players Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman,” said Latif on his YouTube channel.

Ganguly and Dravid made their Test and ODI debuts under captain Azharuddin while Laxman played his first ODI under Tendulkar but made his Test debut when Azhar was back as skipper.

Azharuddin, who is still the only Indian to captain in three ODI World Cups, was one of the country’s most successful captains before Ganguly broke his record and then MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli propelled Indian cricket to new heights. new heights.

Latif, who played a lot of cricket against Tendulkar, has maintained himself among the greatest of all time. “Tendulkar is one of the greatest in the history of the game. Don Bradman, Viv Richards, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Ricky Ponting and Jacques Kallis are among the greatest of all time,” he added .