Connect with us


10 teams picked for Southern Section Division 1 football playoffs




Perhaps the only drama left for the Southern Section football playoffs came on Sunday morning when it was learned how many teams would be selected for the Division 1 playoffs. Would it be eight, 10 or 12?

Using power rankings and the requirement that the No. 1 seed for each of the 14 divisions must be an automatic qualifier, the Southern Section decided that 10 teams should be in Division 1, four of which Trinity League teams. And he preserved what should be a star opener for No. 4 Los Alamitos and No. 5 Long Beach Poly at Veterans Stadium.

“It wasn’t like a decision made. It’s the scoring system that’s driving it,” said Southern Section Commissioner Rob Wigod.

There will be two first-round matches played on Friday: No. 10 Orange Lutheran at No. 7 Huntington Beach Edison and No. 9 San Juan Capistrano JSerra at No. 8 Santa Margarita.

On November 11, the quarterfinal matches will be the winner of JSerra-Santa Margarita at No. 1 seed Santa Ana Mater Dei and the winner of Orange Lutheran-Edison at Bellflower St. John Bosco, seeded #2. That day will also be No. 6 Mission Viejo at No. 3 Corona Centennial and Los Alamitos against Long Beach Poly.

Mission League runner-up Gardena Serra was awarded the No. 1 seed in Division 2. This will be a division packed with Mission League teams, including Chatsworth Sierra Canyon league champion La Puente Bishop Amat and West Hills Chaminade. There are some great matches, like Downey Warren at Sierra Canyon and Ventura St. Bonaventure at Hesperia Oak Hills.

The other top seeds were Corona del Mar in Division 3, Camarillo in Division 4, Villa Park in Division 5, San Juan Hills in Division 6, Lakewood Mayfair in Division 7, Brentwood in Division 8, La Quinta in Division 9, Santa Ana in Division. 10, San Juan Capistrano Valley Christian in Division 11, Lancaster in Division 12, Torrance Bishop Montgomery in Division 13, and Garden Grove Bolsa Grande in Division 14.

Bolsa Grande is making its first playoff appearance since 1987.

All six Mission League teams made the playoffs and each can host the first round. Anaheim Servite and La Verne Damien were the highest-rated teams on the CalPreps leaderboard not to participate in the tournament.